LPR working outside US for 2 years...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LPR working outside US for 2 years...

I am a Legal Permanent Resident got my GC through my wife a US citizen a we had a US citizen son.
    Before i got my GC i am a seafarer in a Norwegian based shipping company in the Philippines and had a valid contract of 4 years. my questions are;

1. With the re-entry permit (RP) can i used my RP multiple times coming back in US territory for my contract is 6 months and 1 month vacation for a span of 2 years and can i renew it for another 2 years?

2. In filling up RP what shall i put on Part 4 purpose of travel and list of countries intend to visit ( i am not sure yet which country i am going to because we are tramping worldwide.

3. In filling up RP on Part 5, if i have ever filed a Federal Income Tax? yes my wife filed a joined return for the reason that i was unemployed. shall i attached a copy of form 1040 A (US Individual Income Tax Return) in my I-131 form?

4. I am only planning to finish my contract to avoid legal problems and settle down permanently here in US.
    Will it create any problem with the immigration officer in the airport if they see that i am getting in and out of the country more often? Is it better i just consume the 2 years period straight out of the country?

Thanks in Advance..

Originally posted by rian_paul View Post
    I am a Legal Permanent Resident got my GC through my wife a US citizen a we had a US citizen son.
    Before i got my GC i am a seafarer in a Norwegian based shipping company in the Philippines and had a valid contract of 4 years. my questions are;

1. With the re-entry permit (RP) can i used my RP multiple times coming back in US territory for my contract is 6 months and 1 month vacation for a span of 2 years and can i renew it for another 2 years?