Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family based Green Card Processing

Hello everyone,

I wanted to write about my experience regarding green card processing sooner but couldn't quite get to it, but im here now and i want to help anybody who is going through the similar situation and looking for some guidance!

Me and my wife were very stressed and overwhelmed when we started green card application process as we didn't knew much!

I want to give a quick background and provide the timeline regarding our application process:

I came to US on F-1 Student visa to get my undergraduate degree, I met my wife(US citizen) during college and we started dating, after a while we moved in together. I graduated college in May 2013 and started working for a company from June 2013 through OPT. Me and my then girlfriend moved to a new city an hour from where i went to college and continued living together. After dating for 15 months we got engaged and slowly started to plan our future together and that's when we needed to look into my immigration situation. We got married on December through Justice of Peace since my wife's parent were not happy of us being together and we couldn't afford a wedding function. After we got married we wanted to get the immigration situation straight soon so that we wouldn't have to leave each other because of immigration. Me and my wife both didn't know how to go about this so we decided to consult with a lawyer and help us with the immigration process.

We decided to hire a lawyer, they seemed pretty good and helpful throughout our process!

First thing our lawyer made us do was get the physical exam done with authorized USCIS physicians, for that they needed all my immunization record and had to get TB test and stuff like that.
    After that was done my lawyer prepared some forms for i-130, i-131, i-485, i-785 so that we could file everything concurrently and the process would get started soon.