Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Divorce and travel after filing N-400. What should I do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Divorce and travel after filing N-400. What should I do?

Hello,
    I am a Legal Permanent Resident. I obtained my LPR via adjustment of status by marriege to my US Citizen spouse. We married on Jan 2017. We went through the Green Card process without any issues and I received my 2-year conditional Green Card on Dec 2018. I later filed 1-751 to remove conditions on residence and I finally received my Permanent Green Card on Feb 2021.

Even though our marriage has had it ups and downs, we were in love and have always been in a legitimate relationship. Honestly, we have not been getting along at all during the past year, but we were always able to reconciliate and I always thought we were going to rekindle our marriage and stay together. We have never physically abused each other, just yell back and forth and stop talking for a few days. So, with this in mind, I went ahead and filed my N-400 on March 2022, following the three year rule for Permanent Residents via marriage. The N-400 application is on course and it currently shows as processing in the USCIS system with an approximate waiting period of 11 months.

This is where it gets tricky: We just had a major argument in mid May and she has decided to put an end to our marriage. I've tried to talk her into working it out, but she says she's done and doesn't want to stay married anymore nor until I become a citizen. She is adamant in getting a divorce asap. I have asked her to give me some time to figure out the best legal course of action. But a divorce is imminent within the next few months. In addition to this, due to work and family events, I will be traveling abroad for a period of 4-5 months: From sep 2022 to Jan 2023.

What would be the best course of action here?