Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 221(g) Experience

Hello All,

I wanted to summarize my experience with 221g. Mentally, I went through hell and even a single ray of hope was huge support back then. Hopefully, this post would provide same support to the applicants who are unfortunately undergoing 221g scrutiny.

My Background: I came to US in 2004 (F1) for my Masters, which I finished in 2006 and continued with my PhD. I did a (last) semester of Co-op at an industry (when I was on CPT-OPT), who offered me a full time job in March 2011. I have been working on my H1B since then. Meanwhile, I finished my PhD in Nov 2011.

In Dec 2012, I went home to visit my family and had my H1B stamping appointment (around Dec 15). I don't know why (its redundant too), but I was handed a Green slip and my application was rejected under section 221g. I was asked to submit documents (resume, research history, publications etc.) to the email address. This was a big blow for me; especially, because my, back then, girlfriend (current fiance) and my dog were in US and I was in India. I am sure, we all go through similar emotional state when something like this happens. But, here are the events and relevant timelines.

Application rejected under 221g ~ Dec 17
    Documents emailed ~ Dec 21
    Number appeared on the list ~ Jan 8
    Submitted my passport ~ Jan 10
    Received passport with stamp ~ Jan 15
    Back to US with my girl and dog ~ Jan 26 (not even single question at immigration related to 221g)