Approximate stats on 221g slips issued for H1B renewal

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Approximate stats on 221g slips issued for H1B renewal

I am heading to India to get my H1B renewed and all the H1B experiences and stories about administrative processing are making me very nervous. Seems like almost every experience mentioned here (https://www.immihelp.com/experience/...sa_h4visa.html) has resulted with a 221g issued. So I am trying to find out two things:

1. Roughly how much percentage of folks get 221g issued for H1B renewals? Is it close to 100%? Or is it perhaps, 50%? I am sure folks who don't get 221g issued generally don't share their experiences on here, but I am trying to get a rough estimate.

2. What's a typical wait time after 221g is issued? I am going through past experiences listed in the page above, and seems like the rough wait time (not counting holidays) is about 3 to 4 weeks.

A little more about my own background:

I work as a FTE for a top financial company in NYC. I work directly for the company. I have been working for almost 11 years. I did my undergrad and masters here in the US and I have been in US for almost 15 years. My I-140 has been approved. No arrest records, and never had any difficulties with my previous Visas (F1 and earlier H1B approvals and renewals). My past H1B with the same company and same job has been renewed without any issues. Nothing has changed since the last approval, except I just need a new stamp.

I'm going to India after a long time (~5 years), so I need to renew my H1B visa. From what I read and from the eligibility checker, I am not eligible for dropbox because my previous H1B visa stamping expired long time ago even though my I-797 has been renewed appropriately for last few years. I have never been out of status.