Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is L1A Individual a good option after L1A Blanket rejection

Hello,

Last week I had an interview at Chennai consulate and to my shock my visa was rejected by VC and was handed over blue form 221(g) suggesting to apply for a different visa category. I have traveled to US more than 10 times on two past L1A visas as well as B1s (Plus travels to France, Australia etc.). I have over 15 years of experience with last 7 years in a managerial position. Given this background, I was quite confident on the approval but at the end it didnt go through and now I need some advice on the next steps.

Find below synopsis of the interview

Me: Good morning
    VC: Your documents please
    Me: Handed over the documents

VC: What is name of your client
    Me: ZZZ
    VC: Say that again!
    VC: Ok, got it!

VC: What is your Salary in India?
    Me: XX INR
    VC: What would be your salary in US?
    Me: XX USD (Its way over 100K)

VC: How many people will report to you in US?
    Me: 4 Managers would report to me and they will have their teams in US

VC: What is your job title in US?
    Me: Senior Manager

VC: What is designation of the person you would report to in US?
    Me: XX

VC: Can you repeat your India and US salary?
    Me: Repeated

After this, he went on typing something on the screen for good two minutes and declared the result. When I asked him for the reason; he asked me to check with my HR! I left the consulate clueless on what caused the rejection.

Given this circumstances in which my visa was denied; I am bit unclear on whether i should apply for L1A individual right now or wait for 6 months and apply for L1A blanket once again. Any suggestion on the likelihood of approval of individual L1A in such situation will be highly appreciated. Also, does anyone have a view on what could have caused the denial?

what is the answer you had given for "What is designation of the person you would report to in US?"