Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L1A VISA - Salary package

Hi Friends,

I am a project manager (11yrs experience working with an leading IT company in India. My employer is sponsoring my L1A VISA

to work out of SanJose, California, USA. He has promised me a salary package of $60K per annum to survive with my spouse and

two kids (one is 6 months old and second is 4 yrs doing his LKG in India).

Please let know whether $60K p.a is a decent pay package in SJ,CA,USA for my role and experience?

What would be a good and very good pay package for this role and location to survive and save as a family?

What are the typical expenses to meet out?

Please share these details.

Thanks,

Sunder.

Hi OP,

I am just replying/sharing my view as nobody has replied - people who are living currently at san Jose/near to that are the best ones to share their experience....

I stayed at Sunnyvale which is near to San Jose only....5 years back with an annual gross salary of $75K as married (no children that time)

As far as surviving is concerned which means to shell out the necessary expenditures -then 60 K is on the borderline.
    And if want to do saving also along with that - then i think it will be little bit tight for you - as you are family of four

So , I suggest you to negotiate with your company and also see how much others are getting from your company (same place)....

thanks and regards,
    Abhay

Comment

Negotiate with company

Hi Sunder,

As Abhay mentioned that 60K is borderline and with family of 4 it will be very tight to save.

If 60K is offered then you will get somewhere around +-4000K in hand after tax deduction and the remaining will be sufficient to survive with little savings.