Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F1 Stamping Question

Hi Everyone,

My name is Kavitha. I am a grad student under F1 visa studying at University of Cincinnati. I am a little confused about F1 visa stamping as i got some mixed inputs from some of my friends. Hence i decided to post my question at Immihelp.

I came to the USA in 2004 with my husband (who was and still is in a H1 visa) in a H4 dependent visa. I finished off my GRE (Score: 1390) and TOEFL (Score : 270) in the following years and applied for admission to pursue my masters in environmental engineering. Please note that i had a B.E. degree in Chemical Engg from the Madras University. I got admitted into University of Cincinnati in Fall 2006 with a tuition waiver and research assistanceship and have been studying here since that time. I have also transferred my visa status from H4 to F1 since. My last visit to India was in a year ago while i was under my H4 visa.

Now i am planning to go to India in August to see my parents and also get my F1 visa stamp. I asked a couple of my friends about F1 visa stamping and a few of them advised me not to go as there is always a chance that my visa could be rejected. A few of them told me since i have a good scores and an assistanceship, there will not be any problem with regard to visa stamping. I know that these are just opinions from my friends but i am a bit nervous as to the possibility of visa rejection on any grounds.My husband is working here and i would not want to risk being separated from him. Also I am already half way through my masters and have put in a lot of effort in my research and coursework. I also dont want to risk completing my degree.

Now these are my questions.
    If i go to India and lets say that i have all the correct documentation, Is there a possibility that there could be any problems with my F1 visa stamping?
    Does the fact that i switched from H4 to F1 pose any issues with regard to stamping?