Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F1 Visa rejected after being on F1 FOR 7 years

Hello all,

I recently applied for a F1 visa for an MBA program at one of the California State University Campuses. The application was denied.

Prior to this, i was an undergraduate student at San Jose State University and had successfully completed my coursework and my OPT as an F1 student. I had been issued a visa in Dec01 and i finished my Degree requirements by 2007 and came to India in Aug08 a little before my OPT was supposed to expire. During this period i had been back and forth to India about 4 times.

My Visa consular told me that i had been in US since 2001 as a student and it was a long time i had been under the F1 status. It did not make sense to me as i within my legal limits of staying in US and working on my degree with proper paperwork.

In addition to denying my application, my old expired visa was marked as cancelled.
    Can some one please advise me on how to pursue my case.
    Thanks in advance.

There is nothing special to pursue this differently other than applying again. F1 rejections need not make any sense as it is based on non-immigrant intent and the VO can reject it anytime if they feel otherwise.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

I suspect the VO was suspicious about 7 years for an undergraduate degree and OPT - or did you get an MS too.

Comment

No i did not complete any masters program. Just undergraduate coursework and opt. I was back before my opt expired and i have been mack 5 times within those 7 years.
        Please suggest.

Comment

Quite frankly, using 7 years for an undergraduate degree and a year of OPT does not indicate that you are a serious student and are not likely to be successful in an MBA program.