Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can one reapply for the OPT once it has been denied?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can one reapply for the OPT once it has been denied?

Hey guys! I am seeking help and advice regarding an issue that have with my OPT application. To help you understand what I am dealing with, please let me explain my situation first:

Before I graduated this December ( a week ago ), I applied for the OPT in September, with help of a DSO person at my school. At first, the DSO told me wrong amount for the application ( $300 instead of $380 ), so my application was sent back at the beginning of December. I promptly wrote a new check with correct amount and overnighted it to the USCIS. Now that I graduated I went home to Europe for holidays, planning on returning to the US in January, when I am supposed to start working with the OPT.

Last night I checked my online bank account and noticed that USCIS deposited the check ( the correct one ). When I looked at the back of processed check I noticed that among bunch of numbers and codes, there was also written in small font: "RejectEmployment". I assumed that meant that my application was denied, though I didn't get the official response yet. I don't have the case status code to check online ( it's not on the check either ), and my DSO is unavailable as she is out of her office for Christmas.

My question is the following: If my OPT application was rejected ( for whatever reason ), is there a way to apply again given that whatever errors were corrected? I suspect that my DSO made mistakes on the application form, I don't see any other reason why my application should have been denied considering I haven't done anything that could void my eligibility and had a very good record on my transcripts.