Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

undergrad student to do an internship in US with a b1/b2 VISA. what are the chances?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• undergrad student to do an internship in US with a b1/b2 VISA. what are the chances?

Hi

I am an Indian undergraduate student currently in my 3rd year of B.Tech (total 4 years) at an IIT. I have applied for an internship under a professor in a US university for this summer (may - july i.e. for 2/2.5 months). He agreed to take me but he advised me to get a visitor (B1/B2) visa instead of J1 exchange visa as it takes so much of time to process and im ny case, time is very short as this is mid-march. I have a relative of mine, staying in the same city as the university and he will be supporting me in all the ways.
    So if I apply for a visitor visa, I have these two reasons to convince the officer as to why I would return to India-
    1. I haven't completed my B.Tech study, so I must return to India after summer to resume my studies
    2. I have my relative there who will look after my accommodation and travel during my stay in US

I would like to know my chances of visitor visa being approved in my case. I would also like to know how should I prepare for the interview and what documents I must submit to support my intentions of returning to India. I would be very thankful for any type of assistance from anyone.

Thanks in advance.