X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Urgent! Please Help!

Hi,
    My name is Skylar.

I am a student that is going to Rome in Spring 2017 and will stay there for 84 days.
    I want to visit Switzerland, Germany and maybe Czech Republic after the program in Rome is over. I plan to be on this trip for 3 more months. That is a total of 6 months in the Schengen area. However, my professor told me I can only stay in Europe for 90 days with my citizenship. The Schengen visa only allows me to stay for 90 days, but I want to visit for a longer time.

I know my citizenship allows me enter Schengen area without a visa for 90 days. But should I apply for the visa if I want to stay longer or will the visa just overlaps with citizenship privilege I already have?
    If I apply for a visa to stay longer, is it going to be a tourist visa? Do I have to apply to extended the length of stay?
    Since I am going to Rome when I first enter the Schengen area, many tells me they are the ones to apply the visa, but is that true? Can I apply the visa with the German embassy or the France consulate? I also heard that I can simply try to get enroll in a class in the university in Germany and get a student visa while not really going to school, is that even possible?

What can I do to help me stay longer in Europe?

This is extremely urgent because i have to book my flight and the schedule needs to be set before I book it!!

Thank you!

Originally posted by Skylar Yin View Post
    Hi,
    My name is Skylar.

I am a student that is going to Rome in Spring 2017 and will stay there for 84 days.
    I want to visit Switzerland, Germany and maybe Czech Republic after the program in Rome is over. I plan to be on this trip for 3 more months. That is a total of 6 months in the Schengen area. However, my professor told me I can only stay in Europe for 90 days with my citizenship. The Schengen visa only allows me to stay for 90 days, but I want to visit for a longer time.