"Advised" to get visa.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Advised" to get visa.

So here is the backstory. I am Swedish but my girlfriend is an American living in GA and I have been visiting her about 3 times a year for the past four years. I have been staying for about 3-4 weeks at a time under VWP and never had any problems. On my last visit this past summer CBP thought that too little time had passed since my previous visit (about a month and a half) and inquired about it. Basically they were saying that I was there too much in a short amount of time. After I explained that I own a company and have a lot of downtime between projects they let me in. However the officer advised me to get a B2 visa. I was not clear why I would need one since they admitted me under VWP. They were really busy that day so I did not have an opportunity to ask them more about it.

I plan to visit my girlfriend over Christmas and New Years. It would be a 3 week stay at the most

I checked and I am still authorized to travel under ESTA so I gather that I am not banned from the program in any way. I have never overstayed past the allowed limit of days allowed under VWP. Nor have I violated any other conditions pertaining to the VWP.

I have tried to get more information from CBP but they could not answer the question oddly enough. I have also used a chatservice with ustraveldocs.com but they only copy pasted standard responses about needing a visa if you are denied from VWP.

I am really confused at this point so if any of you can shed any light on this I would be most grateful. Basically, should I get a visa or not?

What's the harm in getting one ?

Comment

Originally posted by TarCas View Post
      What's the harm in getting one ?
      I don't suppose there's any harm - but the inconvenience of applying for one might be a factor in the OP's question.