Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Girlfriend and her mother on B2 visa

Background:

I am a working professional in the USA on an F1 - OPT Visa. My girlfriend and her mother and planning to come to the US. My girlfriend has a fulltime job in India and her mother is a house wife.
    I have few questions:
    1. How easy is it for my girlfriend and her mother to get a visa?
    2. Is it beneficial if she doesn't specify that she is visiting her boyfriend? She also has a relative in the US who is on H1. IS it beneficial to say that she is visiting the relative?
    3. How should she show that she has ties back to India?

Originally posted by aswathama View Post
    1. How easy is it for my girlfriend and her mother to get a visa?
    Its not impossible, but really difficult for an young lady to get tourist visa. They both need to prove strong ties to home country & show that they do not have immigrant intent.
    2. Is it beneficial if she doesn't specify that she is visiting her boyfriend? She also has a relative in the US who is on H1. IS it beneficial to say that she is visiting the relative?
    Ofcourse, visiting boyfriend shows that you might want to convert your stay to long term. Visiting relative would be better instead.
    3. How should she show that she has ties back to India?
    Dependent parents, property in her own name, good salary etc.
    - I am not an Attorney, hence not giving any legal advice. Just sharing MY opinion with an intent to help others.

If my opinion helping you, then please do click "like" button below.

Comment

Originally posted by Libra_14 View Post
      Dependent parents, property in her own name, good salary etc.
      She only has a dependent mother and the mother will be coming with her. Does that make the case better or worse?