Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mom got visa

All,

After weeks of thorough preparation and documentation, my mom got her visa yesterday at the Chennai consulate. In spite of our situation - my mom is widowed and the breadwinner of our family. She is coming here for my graduation.

Luckily, the questions were simple and straightforward.

It seems the officer was in very good mood.

VO: Who are you going to visit?
    Mom: My son.
    VO: Where is your son studying?
    Mom: <Name of the university>
    VO: My daughter goes to the university too.
    [laughs, feels happy]
    VO: Convey my congratulations to your son
    VO: About your workplace, [repeats name of the employer]?
    Mom: I've been working there for more than 20 years.
    VO: [Smiles], Your visa is granted.

Not a document was checked. How much more easier can
    a visa interview be?

I've been visiting this forum for the last one to one and half month.
    I prepared my mom's case based on the suggested documents, and experiences I found here.

My feeling is this: If you do enough background work - read about all required documents, go through all the various relevant postings, prepare documents truthfully, and train the person who is interviewing, obtaining visitor visa should be very easy.

There is no one word answer to 'What are documents required for visitor visa?' or 'How to obtain visitor visa easily?'.

Thanks for all your knowledgeable answers and insights.

Literate

Congrats! Enjoy her visit.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

help me